PAMLA Scholarships & Honors

Graduate Student Scholarship

A limited number of scholarships, intended to help subsidize travel expenses, are available to graduate students presenting at the annual conference.

See Graduate Student Scholarship Fund for further details.

Margaret H. Sedenquist International Scholarship

This scholarship is intended to help assist one international scholar each year  to attend the annual PAMLA conference.

See Margaret H. Sedenquist International Scholarship Fund for further details.

Paula Svonkin Creative Arts Award

This award will be given to a PAMLA member attending the annual PAMLA conference who has created a poem, short story, brief play, graphic piece, piece of visual art, or work of creative nonfiction connected to the conference theme

See Paula Svonkin Creative Arts Fund for further details.

German Studies Grant

To assist young scholars of German language, literature, and culture. In honor of cherished colleagues including Gunter H. Hertling, Wolfgang Nehring, Jens Rieckmann, Thomas Saine, and Hans Wagener. 

See German Studies Grant for further details.

Pacific Coast Philology Outstanding Article Award

The Pacific Coast Philology Outstanding Article Award was established in 2017 to celebrate the most innovative and engaging peer-reviewed essays published in PAMLA’s Pacific Coast Philology journal. The award is PAMLA’s way of acknowledging the impressive quality of scholarship published in our journal. We encourage all PAMLA members to submit to our Pacific Coast Philology today!

The selection process for the award has been lead by the PAMLA Assistant Director and Executive Director, and includes a judging committee made up of members from different disciplines. The committee discusses and deliberates on the merits of the eligible works, and by the end of each year decides on a winner.

A list of recipients of the award can be found here.

PAMLA Distinguished Service Award

The PAMLA Distinguished Service Award was established in 2011 to honor longstanding members who have distinguished themselves through extraordinary service to the organization. The award is presented at the PAMLA Annual Meeting. Should you know a PAMLA member you believe has earned this important mark of recognition, please contact PAMLA Executive Director Craig Svonkin ([email protected]) to nominate them.

A list of the recepients of the award can be found here.