112th Annual Conference - Riverside Convention Center, California
Friday, October 31 - Sunday, November 2, 2014

Call for Papers: Session Topics

Proposal Deadline: May 15, 2014
Extended Deadline (select sessions): May 31, 2014

Please review the Guidelines and Procedures before submitting a proposal. In particular, please note:

  • Members may only deliver one paper at the conference. You may submit more than one proposal, but as soon as you accept an invitation, you must inform the organizers of the other sessions that you are no longer eligible to present in their sessions.
  • Papers may not be read in absentia.
  • Participation in the conference requires payment of PAMLA 2014 membership dues by July 1 and the separate conference registration fee by September 10. A combined membership/conference fee is available for convenience, and we strongly encourage you to take advantage of this option by July 1.

How to Submit

Submit proposals to any open topic area using the Online Proposal Submission Form. You will need to register and login to access the form (if you created an account last year, you can use it again; if you forgot your username or password, visit the Password Recovery page).

Questions

Questions about a specific session or topic area should be directed to the Presiding Officer listed below. Use these addresses for questions only. Proposals should be submitted using the online form. Completing the form will send an email to the Presiding Officer as well as gather other information we need to construct the conference program.

General inquiries about PAMLA or the conference may be directed to the Executive Director Craig Svonkin at svonkin@netzero.com.

Questions regarding the website or the submission form may be directed to the Webmaster Heather Wozniak at webmaster@pamla.org.

Closed (not accepting submissions)

Title Presiding Officer Session Type
Anne Carson’s Spiritual, Supernatural, and Sublime Poetics Diana Shaffer, Independent Scholar
diana.shaffer@tx.rr.com
Special Session
"A (Wo)Man in the Mirror": Immigrant Transitions Ljiljana Coklin, University of California, Santa Barbara
lcoklin@writing.ucsb.edu
Special Session
21st Century American Poetry Ann Keniston, University of Nevada, Reno
keniston@unr.edu
Special Session
A Conversation with Marjorie Perloff Steven Gould Axelrod, University of California, Riverside
steven.axelrod@ucr.edu
Special Session
A Discussion of Elizabeth Keckley's Behind the Scenes: Or, Thirty Years a Slave and Four Years in the White House (1868) and Southern California Society for the Study of American Women Writers Annual Meeting Denise MacNeil, University of Redlands
denise_macneil@redlands.edu
Special Session
A Walking Tour of Historic Riverside Steve Lech, Riverside Historical Society
Rivcokid@gmail.com
Special Session
Adaptation: Literature to Film Yolanda Doub, California State University, Fresno
ydoub@mail.fresnostate.edu
Special Session
African American Literature Jerry Jenkins, Palomar College
jjenkins@palomar.edu
Standing Session
American Literature after 1865 Sean Epstein-Corbin, University of California, Riverside
scorb001@ucr.edu
Standing Session
American Literature before 1865 Martin W Kevorkian, University of Texas, Austin
mkevorkian@mail.utexas.edu
Standing Session
Ancient-Modern Relations Leonard Koff, University of California, Los Angeles
ljkoff@aol.com
Standing Session
Architecture, Space, and Literature Simon Lee, University California, Riverside
slee168@ucr.edu
Standing Session
Asian American Literature Sharon Tang-Quan, Westmont College
stq.ucsb@gmail.com
Standing Session
Asian Literature Satoko Kakihara, Nagoya University (Japan)
satoko.kakihara@gmail.com
Standing Session
Autobiography Tanya Heflin, Indiana University of Pennsylvania
heflin@iup.edu
Standing Session
Baltic Studies Zivile Gimbutas, Independent Scholar
zgimbutas@gmail.com
Special Session
Beowulf and Related Topics Kristin Noone, University of California, Riverside
kristinlnoone@gmail.com
Standing Session
Beyond Life: The Rise of Undead Culture Roland Finger, Cuesta College
roland_finger@cuesta.edu
Special Session
Biocentrism and Nonhuman Ethics Melissa Brotton, La Sierra University
mbrotton@lasierra.edu
Special Session
Chaucer and Related Topics Schuyler Eastin, UC Riverside
seast001@ucr.edu
Standing Session
Children's Literature Alixandria Lombardo, San Diego State University
alixlom@gmail.com
Standing Session
Christianity and Literature James Lu, California Baptist University
jlu@calbaptist.edu
Special Session
Classics (Greek) Sonia Sabnis, Reed College
sabnis@reed.edu
Standing Session
Classics (Latin) Ellen Finkelpearl, Scripps College
efinkelp@scrippscol.edu
Standing Session
Cognitive Approaches to Literature Elsie Haley, Metropolitan State University of Denver
haleye@msudenver.edu
Special Session
Comics and Graphic Narratives Dawn Dietrich, Western Washington University
Dawn.Dietrich@wwu.edu
Standing Session
Comparative American Ethnic Literature Melanie Hernandez, University of Washington, Seattle
melanieh@u.washington.edu
Special Session
Comparative Literature Paulina M. Gonzales, University of California, San Diego
p6gonzal@ucsd.edu
Standing Session
Comparative Media Lisa Brown Jaloza, University of California, Riverside
lisa.jay.brown@gmail.com
Standing Session
Composition and Rhetoric Dawn Formo, California State University, San Marcos
dformo@csusm.edu
Standing Session
Continental Romanticism Larry H. Peer, Brigham Young University
larry_peer@byu.edu
Special Session
Creative Writing: Brief Poetry Sandra Maresh Doe, Metropolitan State University of Denver
does@msudenver.edu
Special Session
Creative Writing: Poetry that May (or May Not) Change Your Life Renee Ruderman, Metropolitan State University of Denver
rudermar@msudenver.edu
Special Session
Critical Theory John Namjun Kim, UC Riverside, Alexis Briley, Colgate University
john.kim@ucr.edu
Standing Session
Critical Theory John Namjun Kim, UC Riverside, Alexis Briley, Colgate University
alexis.briley@gmail.com
Standing Session
Diachronic Spanish Linguistics: Transformation Cases  Eva Nunez, Portland State University
enunez@pdx.edu
Special Session
Disability in American Literature Lina Geriguis, Chapman University
geriguis@chapman.edu
Special Session
Disney and Its Worlds Jeremiah Axelrod, Occidental College
axelrod@oxy.edu
Special Session
East-West Literary Relations Matthew James Bond, University of California, Riverside
bondmatthewjames@gmail.com
Standing Session
Ecocriticism (co-sponsored by Association for the Study of Literature & Environment) Kevin Hutchings, University of Northern British Columbia
hutchink@unbc.ca
Standing Session
Edith Wharton April Anderson, Claremont Graduate University
april.anderson@cgu.edu
Special Session
English as a Second Language Studies Marialuisa Di Stefano, Utah State University
marialuisa.distefano@wsu.edu
Special Session
English Literature and Culture (to 1700) Amanda Weldy Boyd, University of Southern California
weldy@usc.edu
Standing Session
English Literature and Culture: 20th and 21st Century Kevin Swafford, Bradley University
swafford@bradley.edu
Standing Session
English Literature and Culture: Long 18th Century Lora Geriguis, La Sierra University
lgerigui@lasierra.edu
Standing Session
English Literature and Culture: Long 19th Century Jane J. Lee, California State University, Dominguez Hills
jlee@csudh.edu
Standing Session
Familiarizing the "jeune filles" Virginie Pouzet-Duzer, Pomona College
vpd04747@pomona.edu
Special Session
Film and Literature James R. Aubrey, Metropolitan State University of Denver
aubreyj@msudenver.edu
Standing Session
Film Studies Matthew Snyder, University of California, Riverside
matthew.snyder@ucr.edu
Standing Session
Folklore and Mythology Sam McBride, La Sierra University
smcbride@lasierra.edu
Standing Session
Food Studies Rebecca Ingram, University of San Diego
rei@sandiego.edu
Standing Session
Four SoCal Writers: Eric, Ara, Joseph, & Joseph Joseph Thomas, San Diego State University
jtthomas@mail.sdsu.edu
Special Session
French Heidi Brevik-Zender, University of California, Riverside
hbzender@ucr.edu
Standing Session
Game of Thrones Andrew Howe, La Sierra University
ahowe@lasierra.edu
Special Session
Gay, Lesbian, and Transgender Literature Kevin Kearney, Palomar College
kevinkearney03@yahoo.com
Standing Session
General Conference Events PAMLA Webmaster, Pacific Ancient and Modern Language Association
webmaster@pamla.org
General Event
Geocritical Approaches to 20th and 21st Century Literatures Megan Cannella, Joliet Junior College
megan.cannella@gmail.com
Special Session
George Eliot Carroll Savant, University of Texas at Dallas
carrollsavant@gmail.com
Special Session
Germanics Charles Hammond, Jr., University of Tennessee at Martin
hammond@utm.edu
Standing Session
Global Diasporas: Spectrality and the Uncanny Weihsin Gui, University of California, Riverside
weihsin.gui@ucr.edu
Special Session
Gothic Childhood Kate Carnell Watt, "University of California, Riverside"
kate.watt@ucr.edu
Special Session
Gothic Returns: The Familiar in Contemporary American Gothic Chad Luck, California State University, San Bernardino
cluck@csusb.edu
Special Session
Hannah Arendt Re-historicized Fuhito Endo, Seikei University
endofuhito@gmail.com
Special Session
Homely, Unhomely, Uncanny: The Familiar and the Unfamiliar in German Literature and Culture Roswitha Burwick, Scripps College
rburwick@scrippscollege.edu
Special Session
Indigenous Literatures and Cultures Brenda Machosky, University of Hawai`i, West O`ahu
machosky@hawaii.edu
Standing Session
Italian Ilaria Tabusso Marcyan, University of California, San Diego
iltabuss@ucsd.edu
Standing Session
Italian Cinema Federico Pacchioni, Chapman University
pacchion@chapman.edu
Standing Session
Jewish Literature and Culture Amanda Sharick, University of California, Riverside
amanda.k.moreno@gmail.com
Special Session
Jewish Literature and Culture in ¨Trans-Iberia¨: Spain, Portugal, and Latin America Jorge Galindo, University of Nevada, Las Vegas
jorge.galindo@unlv.edu
Special Session
Landscape, Environment, and the Commons in Italian Culture and Literature Pasquale Verdicchio, University of California, San Diego
pverdicchio@ucsd.edu
Special Session
Latin American Women and Nineteenth-Century Periodicals Patricia Amezcua, California State University, Long Beach
Patricia.Amezcua@csulb.edu
Special Session
Latina/o Literature and Culture Robb Hernandez, University of California Riverside
robert.hernandez@ucr.edu
Standing Session
Liminality in American Literature Michael G. Simental, Independent Scholar
msimental@gmail.com
Special Session
Linguistics Covadonga Lamar Prieto, University of California, Riverside
covadonga.lamar-prieto@ucr.edu
Standing Session
Literature and Religion Haein Park, Biola University
hapark1@gmail.com
Standing Session
Literature and the Other Arts Judith DeTar, University of California, Los Angeles
jsdetar@sbcglobal.net
Standing Session
Magic and Witchcraft Logan Greene, Eastern Washington University
lgreene@ewu.edu
Special Session
Magic Words: Experimental Poetry and Poetics Jessica Lewis Luck, "California State University, San Bernardino"
jluck@csusb.edu
Special Session
Medieval Literature John M. Ganim, UC Riverside
john.ganim@ucr.edu
Standing Session
MFA Poets: Voices of Inlandia Juan Delgado, California State University, San Bernardino
JDelgado@csusb.edu
Special Session
Mid-Twentieth Century Poetry and Culture (Sponsored by the Robert Lowell Society) Steven Gould Axelrod, University of California, Riverside
steven.axelrod@ucr.edu
Standing Session
Modern Austrian Literature Heidi Schlipphacke, University of Illinois, Chicago
heidis@uic.edu
Standing Session
Oceanic Literatures and Cultures Leanne Day, University of Washington
lpday@uw.edu
Standing Session
Once Upon a Time Elena Polyudova, Russian Institute for Art Education Studies
Epolyudova@gmail.com
Special Session
Poetry and Poetics William Mohr, California State University, Long Beach
William.Mohr@csulb.edu
Standing Session
Postcolonial Literature Lorna Hutchison, Metropolitan State University of Denver
lhutchi9@msudenver.edu
Standing Session
Reading Arabic Poetics in America: Colonialism, Translation, and the Sociality of Form Jeff Sacks, University of California, Riverside
jeff.sacks.ca@gmail.com
Special Session
Reanimating the Child: Children's Media and the Macabre David Boyd, Metropolitan State University of Denver
daveebee@gmail.com
Special Session
Reassessing Language Poetry: Thirty Years After The L=A=N=G=U=A=G=E Book Tom Jesse, Texas Christian University
t.jesse@tcu.edu
Special Session
Rethinking "Remediation": New Approaches for the 21st Century Jason Spangler, Riverside City College
jason.spangler@rcc.edu
Special Session
Rethinking/Retheorizing Video Games Daniel Ante-Contreras, University of California, Riverside
dante001@ucr.edu
Special Session
Rhetorical Approaches to Literature Kassia Waggoner, Texas Christian University
kassia.d.jackson@tcu.edu
Standing Session
Romanticism Julian Ledford, Vanderbilt University
julianledford@gmail.com
Standing Session
Satire and Humor Richard E. Hishmeh, Palomar College
rhishmeh@palomar.edu
Special Session
Scandinavian Literature and Culture Marlene Broemer, Clackamas Community College
marlenemp@yahoo.com
Standing Session
Science Fiction Rob Latham, University of California Riverside
rob.latham@ucr.edu
Standing Session
Scientific and Literary Discourse in the Western Cultural Tradition Alexander Pichugin, Rutgers University
pichugin@rutgers.edu
Special Session
Shakespeare and Related Topics Eugene Saxe, Metropolitan State University of Denver
saxeg@msudenver.edu
Standing Session
Spanish and Portuguese (Latin American) Sonia Barrios Tinoco, Seattle University
barrioss@seattleu.edu
Standing Session
Spanish and Portuguese (Peninsular) Alexandra Saum-Pascual, University of California, Berkeley
saum-pascual@berkeley.edu
Standing Session
Taking Flight: Lyricism, Regionalism, and Feminism in British and American Literatures Kelly Douglass, Riverside City College
Kelly.Douglass@rcc.edu
Special Session
Teaching Composition through Media Kathryn Stevenson, Moreno Valley College
kkstevens@hotmail.com
Special Session
Teaching Languages and Culture Through Film Patrizia Comello Perry, Borough of Manhattan Community College
pcomello@hotmail.com
Special Session
Teaching with the Internet and Technology Michelle Stonis, California State University, Long Beach and Glendale Community College
michelle.stonis@csulb.edu
Standing Session
Teaching Writing Across Disciplines Shefali Rajamannar, University of Southern California
rajamann@usc.edu
Special Session
Television Studies Russell McDermott, Metropolitan State University of Denver
rmcderm3@yahoo.com
Standing Session
The Gothic Cheryl Edelson, Chaminade University of Honolulu
cedelson@chaminade.edu
Special Session
The Haunted Sixties Katherine Kinney, University of California, Riverside
katherine.kinney@ucr.edu
Special Session
The Inlandia Institute: Celebrating and Memorializing Literary Inlandia Cati Porter, Inlandia Institute
cati.porter@inlandiainstitute.org
Special Session
The Little Short Shorts: Narrative as Commentary Kathryn Stevenson, Moreno Valley College
kkstevens@hotmail.com
Special Session
The New Italians: Migrant Stories in Literature and Film Enrico Vettore, California State University, Long Beach
enrico.vettore@csulb.edu
Special Session
The Spirit of California Imprisoned: Summoning the Mission Inn David Arnold, University of Wisconsin, Stevens Point
darnold@uwsp.edu
Special Session
The Subversive in the American Sentimental Novel (Southern California Society for the Study of American Women Writers) Christine Danelski, California State University, Los Angeles
Christine.Danelski4@calstatela.edu
Standing Session
The Victorians and Literary Theory Alfred Drake, California State University, Fullerton
ajdrake@ajdrake.com
Special Session
Topics in Tudor-Stuart Literature Timothy Ponce, University of North Texas
timothyponce@my.unt.edu
Special Session
Translation and Interpretation Thierry Boucquey, Scripps College
tboucquey@scrippscollege.edu
Special Session
Travel and Literature Christine Chism, University of California, Los Angeles
chism@ucla.edu
Standing Session
Webcomics: An Emergent Canon Christopher Kuipers, Indiana University of Pennsylvania
c.kuipers@iup.edu
Special Session
Western American Literature Stanley Orr, "University of Hawai'i, West O'ahu"
sorr@hawaii.edu
Special Session
William Faulkner John D. Schwetman, University of Minnesota, Duluth
jschwetm@d.umn.edu
Special Session
Women and Film Joi Carr, Pepperdine University
Joi.Carr@pepperdine.edu
Special Session
Women and Medicine in the Nineteenth Century Mary Powell, Claremont Graduate University
mary.powell@cgu.edu
Special Session
Women and Work Christine Mower, Seattle University
leiren@aol.com
Special Session
Women in French Catherine Montfort, Santa Clara University
cmontfort@scu.edu
Special Session
Women in Literature Beatrice Ganim, Mt. San Jacinto College
beatriceganim@gmail.com
Standing Session
Young Adult Literature Shanna Shadoan, McGill University, Canada and Denver Public Library
sshadoan@denverlibrary.org
Special Session
“That Old Black Magic”: Temporality of Magic Soren Frohlich, University of California, San Diego
sfrohlic@ucsd.edu
Special Session

Cancelled (not being held)

Title Presiding Officer Session Type
A Return to Aesthetics? Craig Svonkin, Metropolitan State University of Denver
svonkin@netzero.com
Special Session
German Cinema Imke Meyer, University of Illinois, Chicago
ixmeyer@uic.edu
Special Session
Latin American and Spanish Cinema: Women, Men, and Gender Hector Cavallari, Mills College
hmcavallari@gmail.com
Special Session
Nineteenth-Century British Literature and Culture PAMLA Webmaster, Pacific Ancient and Modern Language Association
webmaster@pamla.org
Standing Session
Spiritual Manifestations in Latin American Indigenous Horror Films Mari-Eve Monette, McGill University
marie-eve.monette@mail.mcgill.ca
Special Session
Understanding Asian/Asian American Writers James Lu, California Baptist University
jlu@calbaptist.edu
Special Session